Trips to Auschwitz since 1993! | Auschwitz Travel

Fakta om Auschwitz

Facts about Auschwitz and Birkenau.

Facts about Auschwitz and Birkenau.
Auschwitz was active from 1940 to January 1945 and was the largest of the death camps and concentration camps.
The name comes from the name Auschwitz Oświęcim which was the Polish name of the city. It is located about 60 kilometers west of Kraków in south-eastern Poland. Auschwitz was divided into three main camps:
Auschwitz: concentration camps, the one with buildings constructed of brick.
II-Birkenau: the concentration and extermination camp, with numerous wooden barracks and gas chambers.
 Auschwitz III Monowitz: including the IG Farben factory.

Approximately 1,3 million people were sent to Auschwitz, and 1,1 million of them died in the camp. Within this total, approximately 1 million were Jews. The remainder was made up of Poles, Soviet prisoners of war, Gypsies, and people of other nationalities. The Nazis called the Holocaust ‘Operation Reinhard’.
It was started in autumn 1941, and marked the beginning of the plan to exterminate all Jews. Auschwitz II-Birkenau, Belzec, Sobibor and Treblinka II were subsequently built to further this aim The Wannsee Conference on January 20, 1942 included all of Europe’s Jews in the Nazi extermination plans.